The Misfortunate Event of a Video Game Journalist


There I was staring obliviously into a pitch-black, empty computer monitor only guessing at how it could have happened. I kept telling myself, “I cleaned this damn thing 3 days ago.” They say there is a thin line between love and hate and boy did I feel both towards myself.

Every artist has their own canvas: Painters and boards, musicians and instruments, and writers and paper. Now of course, being a video game journalist requires extensive writing, but not so much on pencil and paper. You see, in the ever-changing world of news, news happens all the time with no exception to video game journalism. One must always be prepared to post a news article or review of a recently obtained game and therefore a computer is always needed. Without a computer, you are as trapped as an animal in a cage, ostracized from the rest of the world.

Dragon Quest Screenshot

Nexon's Dragon Nest

And that was what I had succumbed to, an animal in a cage. I was unable to post news articles, game reviews, or even view the damn website. For a month and a half, that was what I was and it hurt to see how much I had missed. I missed out on covering the biggest gaming event of the year, E3. I am backtracked on various gaming news (even though my tiny iPod Touch was able to relay some information). I missed out on an invitation to the Closed Beta of Nexon’s Dragon Nest, a game that had been on my mind since autumn of last year. Seconds, minutes, hours, days, and weeks went by with each unit of time acting as torment to my very being, as video games are the nervous points in my body.

But like a wise man once said, “there is a light at the end of every tunnel.” Obtaining the money to send my computer to credible computer shack, my “Beyonce”, “Mariah Carey”, my “whatever you want to call it”, came back to me in tip-top condition. Now, I am back. I am locked and loaded. I am ready to continue my crusade across the unpredictable fantasy land of video games. With my mighty keyboard, powerful chair and vocabulary potions, I will traverse until my journey is alas complete.


Music Credits: Zelda II: The Adventure of Link “Temple” – Original Composer: Akito Nakatsuka – Remixer: Cimarron – Overclocked Remix.org

About Kameron Smart

A normal gamer with a last name that's awesome.

Leave a Reply

